Thread: Underwriting - How do I get my foot in the door?

New User Level 0

Default Underwriting - How do I get my foot in the door?

I am currently an AE at an independent agency on the Gulf Coast. Ever since I started my career in this field (about four years ago) I have been interested in being an underwriter. My overall question is what is the best way to become one? I have applied for a few asst. underwriter jobs and trainee positions but never heard anything back. All of my experience has been on the agency side. I understand I don't have underwriting experience, but I feel that my agency experience should translate. I have a four year degree but no professional designations as of yet. I am planning on working to get some designations but I don't feel that should be a requirement. Many of the underwriters I have worked with have none. I am primarily interested in commerical P&C but would certainly start in personal lines either for a carrier or for a wholesale/broker.

Any input into this would be very helpful, thank you.

2. Last edited by Bens4vcobra; 10-14-2009 at 08:18 AM.

Member Level 0

Hi Bens4vcobra,

I had a similar experience in stockbroking, in the UK which means I cant recommend who to go to in your case, but want to say, I spent two years applying to private banks in London and literally heard nothing back. I had no professional qualifications either because you usually get sponsored to do those when you have a job, but no one is interested until you have the qualifications or at least part of them. Eventually though I did finally get a response, and within two weeks of making contact with a bank I had a trainee job there. So all in all I am trying to say do not get too disheartened especially with how the current climate is. It will happen if you carry on trying!
    Owner of Quote Goat

New User Level 0