Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Individual Health Insurance

New User Level 0

Default Individual Health Insurance

I am an IT Professional and have been out of work for over a year. I am happy with my COBRA but it only lasts for 18 months. I hope to get a job soon but if I don't get a job or get a job without benefits, I will have to get an individual health plan. I live in New York.

I have been looking at the costs of individual health plans in New York State and they are prohibitive. I may or may not qualify for certain options like Healthy New York or Medicaid but prefer a more comprehensive policy like I have now.

Does anyone know of any groups I can belong to that may give me a quality policy at a reasonable price. Another thing I'd take is a high deductible catastrophic policy but after say a $6,000 deductible is met, everything is covered.

Any suggestions you have would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much.

New User Level 0

Default Health Insurance

The best way to get health insurance is through your employer as part of a "group health insurance" plan. You'll often have broader benefits than if you were to buy a plan yourself on the open market.

Another option is to buy an "individual" health plan. Despite its name, an individual health plan can cover your whole family. Individual health plans will be priced based on your medical history and can exclude pre-existing conditions from coverage. Read tips for buying individual health coverage.

See if your state's insurance department has a health insurance shopper's brochure that lists health plans and comparative costs. Also, if your state mandates "guaranteed issue" plans, you'll be able to buy an individual health plan no matter what your medical conditions are. The Kaiser Family Foundation tracks which states mandate guaranteed issue health plans.

New User Level 0

Quote Originally Posted by xyz100 View Post